Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update

Enjoy a fully remote summer of professional education at the Silicon Valley Campus and the re-emergence of in-person courses in September. Visit our COVID update page.

Course

Python for Data Analysis | DBDA.X420


With data now being created at the rate of 2.5 quintillion bytes a day, there is a tremendous demand for people who can explore vast amounts of data. In this lab-based course, you will learn how to glean empirical truth from data using Python with Pandas, how to make the right decisions, and how to bring order from chaos.

Experience Python's straight-forward syntax, built-in data types, and object-oriented programming (OOP) and make your own data types. Learn how Python's brilliant architecture allows you to jump into any of more than 100,000 libraries provided for Python. In this course you work with the Pandas, Numpy, and Matplotlib libraries to inspect data, manipulate data, calculate statistics, and provide informative and beautiful visual representations for data sets via interactive Jupyter Notebooks.

Learning Outcomes:
At the conclusion of the course, you should be able to:

  • Describe Python's underlying object model, operators, and syntax
  • Employ Pandas, Numpy, and Mathplotlib through Python and Jupyter Notebooks
  • Clean, manipulate, analyze, and graph data
  • Create Python functions to customize the behavior of data transformations
  • Grasp and emulate the online Python/Pandas/Matplotlib data analysis examples

Topics Include:

  • Pandas, DataFrames and Series for data sets:
  • * Cleaning
    * Collating
    * Extrapolating
    * Analyzing
    * Dealing with timed data
  • Matplotlib for presenting graphs
  • Python for using the data libraries effectively

Skills Needed: Helpful, but not required, are a basic experience in any programming language and a rudimentary knowledge of statistics.

Have a question about this course?
Speak to a student services representative.
Call (408) 861-3860

Sections Open for Enrollment:

Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Cost Instructor
06-29-2021 to 08-31-2021 3.0 $1200

Marilyn Davis

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Tue, 06-29-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 07-06-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 07-13-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 07-20-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 07-27-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 08-03-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 08-10-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 08-17-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 08-24-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 08-31-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Open Sections and Schedule
Start / End Date Units Cost Instructor
09-14-2021 to 11-16-2021 3.0 $1200

Marilyn Davis

Enroll

Schedule

Date: Start Time: End Time: Meeting Type: Location:
Tue, 09-14-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 09-21-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 09-28-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 10-05-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 10-12-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 10-19-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 10-26-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 11-02-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 11-09-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE
Tue, 11-16-2021 6:30 p.m. 9:30 p.m. Live-Online REMOTE